Recipe #2: Homemade Jamaican Beef Patties

9 Feb

Beef Patties!! Yummy!! Probably one of the most well known Jamaican dishes.  My family either buys these delicious little pastries from a local U.S. Jamaican Bakery, or when family comes up from Jamaica they bring the original ones up frozen.  Those, even though frozen, are always my favorite. They are flaky and delicious.  My biggest worry when deciding to do this recipe was making sure the crust had that same flaky goodness. I also am a HORRIBLE baker..rolling dough always seems like such a process. But here we go…

I decided to make this second because of the the extra ground beef I had left in my fridge.  I figure, might as well use what I have!

Here is the recipe from the book.

For the Pastry

  • 4 cups flour
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup shortening or margerine
  • iced water

For the Filling

  • 2 onions
  • 3 stalks escallion
  • 2 hot peppers
  • 2lbs minced beef
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1 lb breadcrumbs
  • 1 teaspoon thyme leaves
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 cup water

For the pastry, sieve together the flour, curry powder and salt.  Work in the shortening or margarine, adding enough iced water to hold it together.  Wrap it in foil and refrigerate for 12 hours or overnight.  remove dough 15 minutes before you are going to use it.  Pull off to make one patty at a time.  Roll each piece our and cut into circles.

For the filling, put onions, escallion and hot pepper through a mincer or chop very finely by hand.  Add to the beef and mix very well.  Heat the oil in the frying pan, throw in the meat mixture and stir for a few minutes, add breadcrumbs, thyme and curry power. Salt and pepper to taste.  Mix well, add water and simmer for 30 mins.  It should be neither runny or dry, let the mix cool.

fill each pastry enough to cover half of it, fold the other half over and crimp the edges with a fork.. bake on un-greased baking sheets in a pre heated oven at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes

OK, here is how I did it:

For some reason I decided to get fancy with it…lol..It was because had less beef than the recipe called for so I had to approximate some of the other ingredients.

I did the pastry the night before and refrigerated it.

For the pastry I used:

  • 3 cups of flour
  • 12 tablespoons of stick butter not margerine, slightly melted, but still solid (what is that room temp butter or something?)
  • and an extra 1/2 tablespoon of curry, totally 11/2

Forked in the butter and Mixed all those ingredients together until it was a completely firm ball. Image

The next day, took the dough out the fridge

Then Onto the filling, with my half pound of beef I used 1 and half an onion, 1 scallion, another tablespoon and a half of curry powder and I added red chili flakes to the mix with the scotch bonnet peppers.  I also just kind of eye balled the amount of bread crumbs I put it….little did I know they were so important, as you will find out later! Anyways.. mixed it all together and browned the beef up. Followed the recipe, added water and let it simmer.Image

While that was simmering I began rolling out the dough.  This was the part I was scared off.. Turned out not too bad, and smelled delicious!!!!

I was trying to figure out about how much dough I need to roll out. I learned about a full fist full was perfect. I cut circles out of the rolled out dough with a bowl.

Image

Then I just filled each little dough pocket and crimped the edges, as the recipe called for.

Everything else stayed the same, and here is how they turned out!

ImageI made different types, the square ones which look more traditional and the folded over ones.

The results:FLAKY CRUST PERFECTION!! The crust was so flaky and perfect! Loved it.

That extra 1/2 tablespoon of curry in the crust though, was not needed.

Also, I needed to make more of the filling mixture. I think its better to make more filling than have more pastry crust, because, I mean.. what are you going to do with extra crust?…

*So Note* keep count of how many crusts I am rolling out..

The meat was delicious, loaded with flavor, and spicy with the kick of red pepper flakes. Next time I will strain some of the oil out before I stuff the pastries and my father suggested adding more breadcrumbs to make the filling more filled..I don’t know what exactly he meant by that.. but I’ll play with it..lol..

Overall though..delicious!!

6 Responses to “Recipe #2: Homemade Jamaican Beef Patties”

  1. thegreatzambini February 10, 2013 at 3:38 am #

    I rarely have anything Jamaican, so this is a pretty exciting idea for me. Love this! It looks a bit like South American papusas, to tell the truth.

    • truthvsfeelings February 10, 2013 at 11:48 am #

      Thank you! So many Jamaican dishes are influenced by Native America, Indian, African, Spanish and French cuisine. So the similarities between dishes in South America and some of the other West Indian Islands are definitely there. Sometimes its just a slight variation in ingredients that makes the dish unique to a particular country.

      • thegreatzambini February 10, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

        That is cool how all of the food is sort of connected. Like the difference between Indian and Thai curry. They both are rather similar!

  2. truthvsfeelings February 10, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    Definitely!!

  3. Delphanie February 10, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Gonna try this!

Leave a Reply

