Recipe #1: Brown Stew Fish

9 Feb

Decided to do this recipe first mainly because the family has been eating way too much beef and pork. So, I went out and bought a few pounds of red snapper. Such a beautiful fish! Asked the butcher to give me meaty cuts with the heads already cut off.  I wish I would have taken a picture.. but I didn’t know I was going to do this then.. So I borrowed a pic.  The slices I bought looked like this… Image  I just bought a few nice meaty pieces.  When I got home I froze them until I was ready to start the recipe.

This is the recipe as stated in the book:

  • 2lbs fresh snapper
  • juice of 2 limes
  • oil
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 tomatoes ,chopped
  • 3-4 hot pepper
  • 1 table spoon pimento berries
  • salt
  • black pepper

Clean and wash the fish, rub them with lime juice, then dry them with a kitchen cloth or paper.  Fry them and then remove some of the oil in the bottom of the pan.  Add onions, garlic, tomatoes, hot pepper slices and pimento berries.  Stir for a few minutes, then add water, salt and black pepper.  bring to a boil, then reduce the heat, cover the pan and simmer for 10 minutes until the sauce is reduced.

Ok, so that is what the recipe said, here is what I did.

To start, I kept all the ingredients the same.  Took me a little while to realize that those pimento berries, may also be considered allspice.  So I used allspice berries.

Now every time I have ever fried fish, the stuff gets stuck to the bottom.  I wanted that nice crust on my fish.  My aunt told me I needed to get the oil so hot that it smoked.  I used a traditional dutch pot and heated the oil until I saw smoke.

I put salt and pepper on the inside and the outside of the fish, placed it in my smoking hot pan….and jumped back because the oil started popping…OOOPPPS>>> lol…forgot to pat dry the fish first.

After drying, I tried again… and perfection!! No sticking, no popping.. just sweet frying!! The fish had a perfect color!! Image

After I followed the recipe pretty exactly, and WALLAH!!

Image

It was delicious. My father loved it.. although he may be biased… lol.. The only thing I would change would be to add more hot pepper.  But that is because I really like spicy food.

We ate this with white rice, the dish produced enough gravy to keep the rice moist and flavorful.

2 Responses to “Recipe #1: Brown Stew Fish”

  1. Melanie Bierlein February 9, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    I am obsessed with your new blog! Keep em coming and save me a chair because I’m coming up soon!

  2. truthvsfeelings February 9, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    Thanks!! Will do!! Def, I need more taste testers!!

Leave a Reply

