Recipe #3: Cornmeal porridge

10 Feb

Image

Cornmeal. One of those foods that I have used for so many different recipes besides the one dish that I grew up with, Cornmeal porridge! I’ve watched my mother make this for breakfast for many years, always on the weekend. Now I know why!! I began this one because my mom was going to make oatmeal porridge, because it is easier.  But I said NOOO, let’s make cornmeal.

Here is the recipe from the book:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 4 cups milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cinnamon leaf or 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • sugar

Pour the milk into a pan, add the cornmeal, mix very well to remove lumps, and bring to the boil, stirring constantly.  Immediately lower the heat and stir in the nutmeg, vanilla, cinnamon and sugar to taste.  Simmer for another 10 minutes.  Add extra milk if it should get to thick.  Serve in bowls and sprinkle with brown sugar.

O.k here is what I did:

LOL..totally wasn’t prepared.

First since we have some lactose intolerance in my house, I used Organic Soy Milk Vanilla. Which I ran out off. So I had to cut the amount by 1 cup. Image

My mom warned before hand, Cornmeal likes to clump! boy was she right.

It’s really important to start off with the cornmeal in a cold mixture and then bring it up to boil.  While it is cooking, YOU MUST STIR CONSTANTLY, or it will clump! If you put it in hot water, it will clump!! So pretty much the trick is not letting the cornmeal clump! Which of course mine did!! LOL!

I added some water since I didn’t have enough milk and I thought that it looked too thin so I decided to add a bit more cornmeal. BAAD idea. My porridge got too thick..Image

Image

Then, I added water and it got too thin!!! OOYY.. My mom had to save the day.

She had me add a few table spoons of cornmeal to about half a cup of cold water. (to prevent clumping) and then add it to the pot.  This ended up perfect. This is what it should look like.

Image

What I had originally though was too thin, was not.  So, if you replicate the dish, don’t get nervous about the “thinness” of the porridge. It finally came out not clumpy, and not too thick. My mom gave a really good tip. She said you always know when cornmeal is cooked because you smell it.  When it first starts you don’t smell it, but then this delicious aroma of cornmeal and nutmeg and cinnamon fills the kitchen.  She is right!

Image

My dad adds sweet milk (condensed milk), and brown sugar to his cornmeal porridge, my mom just added sugar. I just added some brown sugar to mine.

It came out delicious. But my father did say when he came down…”what, cornmeal, who had the patience to make that this morning?” LOL and that’s exactly what it took.

4 Responses to “Recipe #3: Cornmeal porridge”

  1. eggthoughts February 14, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

    I was just in Jamaica last week, and had cornmeal porridge! So I’m excited to see this recipe and pointers! I will have to give it a try. Seems like it’s similar to making grits, you have to give it plenty of attention for it to turn out! 🙂

    • truthvsfeelings February 14, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

      🙂 I hope you enjoyed yourself in Jamaica,I can’t wait for my next trip! I have never made grits, but yes that porridge took lots of attention, but totally worth it!

      • eggthoughts February 15, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

        Thanks, yes I did enjoy the trip! This was my 5th time to go, and can’t wait to go back, I’m growing to love it! And I’m amazed how certain foods are so associated with certain places. A bite of something and I can be RIGHT back there!

      • truthvsfeelings February 16, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

        I’m glad! You are right, all the foods transport you! If you ever remember something that you would like to recreate let me know. I will see if it is in the book!

Leave a Reply

