Recipe #7: Cod (Salt) Fish Fritters

16 Feb

Fritters, a yummy lunch time snack. Made with Salt fish, or cod fish (as you will find it in the super maket)  What is interesting about this recipe is again I was looking for the term I grew up with, which was fritters. But as I searched through the book, I couldn’t find the recipe for fritters.  I finally found a recipe in the cookbook called “Stamp and Go”. I asked my mother.  She said that in Jamaica she used to called them Snap and Go’s.  She didn’t even realize that the actual name was Stamp and Go. Looks like we are both learning things from my journey!!

Here is the recipe from the book:

  • 1/2 lb salt cod
  • 3 cups of flour
  • 1 tea spoon baking soda (optional)
  • 3 stalks scallion
  • 2 hot peppers
  • 1/2 tomato
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • oil

Soak the fish in water for 30 mins.  Remove the bones and skin and shred the fish finely.  Place the flour in the bowl, and add the baking powder, scallion, hot peppers, tomato, thyme.  Add enough water to make a soft sticky batter. Drop the mixture from a spoon into medium hot oil until they are golden brown.  Drain them on a a paper and serve them hot.

O.K Here is what I did:

Image

I used all of the same ingredients except the tomato.   Only because I didn’t have any in the house. Also, I added quite a bit of black pepper.  I boiled my fish, instead of just soaking it.  Cod Fish is really salty, and boiling out the salt is quicker than just soaking it.  I boiled it once, then poured out the water, added more, and boiled it again.  Then I flaked the fish with a fork. Image

*Warning* Do not start tasting the flakes of salt fish! You WILL become addicted and won’t be able to stop. Then you won’t have any for your fritters!! LOL.

After I added all my ingredients in the bowl, I added water. The consistency should be like a chunky pancake batter.

Image

I heated the oil before I added the mixture to the pan and it began frying perfectly.  So again, make sure the oil is hot, not smoking, but hot.

Image

Flipped each one, and whallah, fritters!

Image

The only thing I would change is not adding baking powder.  I wanted the fritters to be more crispy and the baking powder puffed them a bit.  But they were still delicious.  They didn’t last too long either. LOL  You can play with the amount of fish you want to put in your fritters,  and the amount of hot pepper.  My dad also suggested putting some hot sauce to make the fritter spicier!

Leave a Reply

