Recipe #16: Jamaican Beef and Okra

14 Apr

So, I took the Beef Tripe out of the fridge. I thawed it out, but I am still not ready to work with it.  I am promising myself that I will do it some time this week, but I am not ready yet!.  So instead of cooking the tripe I went back out to the store and just picked up some round of beef. In The Cookbook I found Beef and Okra, which is a dish I am much more willing to work with!

Here is the recipe from the book

  • 2lb shoulder steak, round of beef, sirloin or shin of beef
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1/3 cup of oil
  • 2 onions
  • 1 clove of garlic, chopped
  • 1 sprig of thyme
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 4 cups of water
  • 1lb of okras, tops removed

Cut the meat across the grain into thin slices, no more than 2×3 inches and season them with a little salt and pepper.

Brown the meat in the oil, then add the onions and garlic and stir until these take color.  Add the thyme and tomatoes, stir again, and add the water.  Bring to a boil, then lower the heat, cover and simmer until the meat is tender.  Add more water if it becomes necessary.

Add the okras, taste for salt, cover, and cook for a further 30 minutes.

Here is what I did:

My family isn’t really a beef eating family, so I knew my goal was to get them to enjoy this meal.  Also, I’ve cooked beef before and my personal challenge is trying to figure out how to get the beef tender.  When I said this out loud my father, my backseat cook, yelled that I need to “let da meat cook.” LOL! So that is what I did.

First I bought already cubed meat, and I seasoned them on both sides with salt and pepper.  I added them to a pot of hot oil and butter.

Image

While that was browning I chopped up my other ingredients, the tomatoes, onions, and garlic.

Image

Once the pieces were brown, I followed the rest of the instructions, adding in the onion and garlic.  Letting it brown, and then adding the tomatoes, thyme and water.  I added just enough water to cover the meat.

Image

I covered the pot and let this simmer. Like I said, my goal was to get the meat as tender as possible.  This pot of yummy goodness simmered for over an hour.

When I felt I could break apart the beef cubes easily with the knife I added in the Okra. I used frozen okra because my supermarket didn’t have fresh ones.  I also added in a few dashes of hot sauce.

Image

I covered the pot again and let it simmer for another hour.  At this point the meat was practically falling apart.

Then I served it up with rice and peas.  Made perfectly of course from the previous recipe!

Here is dads plate!

Image

Here is mine!

Image

Image

Another success! This was so good, the beef literally melted in my mouth. My dad added a few more dashes of hot sauce, but I was good with my spiciness.

After rereading the recipe I noticed it said I should slice the meat into thin slices.  Next time I will make thinner slices, but regardless definitely a go to meal!

2 Responses to “Recipe #16: Jamaican Beef and Okra”

  1. eggthoughts April 25, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    Nice! Always good to find a new use for okra! Glad you are keeping with this project and making new recipes! What an adventure.
    ~Frances

    • truthvsfeelings April 28, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

      Thank you!! I’m really moving through the book, faster than I thought I would!

Leave a Reply

