Recipe #17: Ginger Bread

28 Apr

Right now I am trying to do anything to get away from cooking that tripe! So I decided to test my hand at baking.  There are quite a few recipes that call for baking in The COOKBOOK.  I have actually gone through almost all of the dinner dishes, so to avoid the tripe, it is only right to begin on a few desserts.  This was such a quick and easy recipe, me (who sucks at baking) completed it without barely a hitch!

Here is the Recipe from the book:

  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoon grated ginger
  • 1 egg beaten

Heat the molasses, sugar and butter gently in a pan.  Pour in the hot water, mix well and set aside.

Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg, then add the grated ginger and the well beaten egg.  Combine the molasses liquid with the flour mixture, and pour the resulting batter into a shallow tin lined with greased paper.  Bake in a slow over at 300 – 350 degrees F. 150-160 degrees C, for an hour or until done.

OK Here is what I did:

I began with the molasses. I was very nervous about burning it, so I kept the heat on low as everything melded together.

Image

While that was working I grated the ginger.

Image

Once the molasses and butter mixture was melted, I added the water and let it sit. The consistency was runny, and smelled delicious. Image

I set that aside and sifted the flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg together.

Image

Once that was done I got the pan ready. I learned a trick that my aunt always uses when she is baking something so that the food doesn’t stick.  I took a slice of butter and placed it on a napkin.  I rubbed the butter all around the pan.  Then a took of pinch or two of flower and shifted it around in the pan until the entire pan and the sides were covered.  Then I discarded the excess flour. Image

Now my only hiccup was when I added the molasses mixture to the flour.  It became really clumpy.  I am not sure how to prevent that.  If you have any ideas, let me know! But I added all the ginger to that mixture and stirred it up. Then poured it into the pan.

Image

See.. a little clumpy.  But anyway, I baked that for the specified time.  The house smelled awesome! And wallah! Gingerbread!!

Image

My mom asked why i didn’t put it in a bread pan. LOL, I don’t know! But the test was whether it bread came out smoothly.  And Oh yes it did!!

Image

Look closely at the bottom of the pan! And yes I served it with ice cream. I know it is supposed to be a bread, but I thought ginger and ice cream.. and yes it was yummy.  I wonder if I could use that bread to make a bread pudding..hhmmm…LOL!!

Image

Everyone loved the bread. It was like eating a ginger bread cookie, just softer.  We all picked at pieces of the bread all day.  It didn’t last long! YUM!!

Leave a Reply

